Terrain Projects

Posted on December 31, 2014

0


I struggled with motivation to paint my armies. In order to find motivation, I decided to improve terrain. To inspire myself, I travelled over to the Hutt Wargame Club and looked at what they do. From them, I also learned that Gordon & Harris stock the insulating foam that in other countries hardware stores carry.

My most ambitious project is to create modular terrain pieces with more of a 3-D character to them than I previously had. The “gold foam” allows this without weight concerns. How to lock them together is solved by use of another idea from the wider wargame community: using the reverse side of picture canvases.

Here is what I’ve achieved so far:

River on base board; main flat terrain and four riparian sections.

River on base board; main flat terrain and four riparian sections.

Littoral area on base board; main flat terrain and two littoral sections.

Littoral area on base board; main flat terrain and two littoral sections.

Posted in: Scratch Building