Fixed desert terrain – 1200mm square board

Posted on January 3, 2015

0


My second terrain project is a mashup of my 1200mm squared board, which is a foldaway affair, and the ‘desert’ cork tiles I already have. I really wanted to keep those separate, but they are imperial foot square tiles and my foldaway board is 1200mm by 1200mm, before I added raised edging. That reduced it to about 1160mm square. So after experimenting with interlocking methods I opted to permanently glue the cork tiles down.

The result isn’t pretty but is functional. It is too heavy to shift around easily. In any case it is custom-sized to lock over my normal game/work bench once extended.

While I was doing this, I added a few extra terrain pieces out of surplus cork tiles. A hot glue gun proved invaluable for this.

Here’s a couple of pictures showing the scratch-built terrain pieces on the board.

Those general view shows all my scratch-built desert terrain.

Those general view shows all my scratch-built desert terrain.

The "cliffs and arch" at rear remind me of Dungeon Siege! Probably not practical for a normal wargame, but fun.

The “cliffs and arch” at rear remind me of Dungeon Siege! Probably not practical for a normal wargame, but fun.

Posted in: Scratch Building