Medieval Irish mounted ready to mount

Posted on July 1, 2015

0


Meaning, the mounted (LH, Cav) are now all painted and ready to base.

In between posts the DBA3.0 rules arrive from the UK. I really like them, though the roughly ‘legal’ size book does not shelve easily. Each army list has a short explanation, which sheds a great deal of light for those that don’t already have research material. Such as me, in this case.

Thanks to this I can now judge that the approach used by Kevin Boylan here for LH, which places a ‘noble’ style mini next to a ‘kern’ style mini on the same base, is the right approach. So that’s three of normal lights and three fully-weaponed, armored types. The Cav is a little harder to judge. They are supposedly decayed Anglo-Irish, but it’s anyone’s guess how different that makes them from normal Irish warriors. It would vary over the hundreds of years the army covers, for sure.

I do a little research online for banners, and decide to adapt a heraldry example as a large war-standard, using MSPaint. Probably anachronistic but it looks good.

The 3.0 edition also tells me I can add two stands of bow-armed Ps, as options. Now it so happens that RedBox included these. To date I have assumed these are (a) too well-dressed and (b) anachronistic, but I may very well add them. They look really nice, unpainted.

